Research & Clinical Trials

As the only national nonprofit advocacy organization focused on hereditary breast and ovarian cancer, FORCE has a strong commitment to promoting research.

| More

NCT01149083

Veliparib With or Without Carboplatin in Treating Patients With Stage III or Stage IV Breast Cancer

Study identifier: NCT01149083
Full study details on clinicaltrials.gov

Name of PARP Inhibitor used in study:

Veliparib (Abbott)

Eligibility:

  • Histologically confirmed metastatic or locally advanced breast cancer
    • Disease not amenable to surgery
    • Standard curative measures do not exist or are no longer effective
  • Patient must have a known BRCA mutation
  • Measurable disease by RECIST criteria

Type of study:

Phase II randomized study

Treatment:

  • Arm I: Patients receive oral veliparib twice daily on days 1-21.
  • Arm II: Patients receive carboplatin IV over 30 minutes on day 1 and veliparib as in
    arm I.

Study sites:

Arizona
Scottsdale
Mayo Clinic Scottsdale   
Contact: Donald W. Northfelt 480-301-4411 Northfelt.Donald@mayo.edu     

California
Duarte
City of Hope Comprehensive Cancer Center
Contact: George Somlo 626-256-4673 GSomlo@coh.org

Los Angeles
USC/Norris Comprehensive Cancer Center and Hospital
Contact: Agustin A. Garcia 323-865-3900 garcia_a@ccnt.usc.edu     

Davis
University of California Davis Cancer Center
Contact: David R. Gandara 916-734-3771 david.gandara@ucdmc.ucdavis.edu

Colorado   
Denver
University of Colorado Cancer Center at UC Health Sciences Center
Contact: Virginia F. Borges 303-724-0186 virginia.borges@ucdenver.edu

Florida
Jacksonville
Mayo Clinic - Jacksonville
Contact: Edith A. Perez 904-953-7283 perez.edith@mayo.edu        

Illinois
Chicago
University of Chicago Cancer Research Center     
Contact: Contact: Rita Nanda 773-834-2756 rnanda@medicine.bsd.uchicago.edu

Maryland
Baltimore
Sidney Kimmel Comprehensive Cancer Center at Johns Hopkins     
Contact: Clinical Trials Office - Sidney Kimmel Cancer Ce    410-955-8804     jhcccro@jhmi.edu   

Massachusetts
Boston
Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center     
Contact: Nadine M. Tung 617-667-7082 ntung@caregroup.harvard.edu      

Dana-Farber/Harvard Cancer Center at Dana-Farber Cancer Institute          
Contact: Judy Garber, MD     617-632-2282     judy_garber@dfci.harvard.edu   

Massachusetts General Hospital 
Contact: Steven J. Isakoff 617-726-4920 sisakoff@partners.org        

Minnesota
Rochester
Mayo Clinic Cancer Center           
Contact: Matthew P. Goetz 507-284-2511 goetz.matthew@mayo.edu        

Missouri
Saint Louis
Siteman Cancer Center at Barnes-Jewish Hospital - Saint Louis       
Contact: Cynthia X. Ma, MD, PhD     314-362-9383      

New York
New York     
New York Weill Cornell Cancer Center at Cornell University
Contact: Tessa Cigler 212-821-0736 tec9002@med.cornell.edu        

Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center
New York, New York, 10065
Contact: David Paul Kelsen, MD     212-639-2428       

Pennsylvania
Hershey
Penn State Hershey Cancer Institute at Milton S. Hershey Medical Center
Contact: Chandra P. Belani 717-531-1078 cbelani@psu.edu    

Pittsburgh
Magee Womens Hospital
Contact: Shannon L. Puhalla 412-641-5792 puhallasl@upmc.edu        

UPMC Cancer Centers    
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, 15232
Contact: Shannon L. Puhalla 412-641-5792 puhallasl@upmc.edu        

Texas
Houston
M. D. Anderson Cancer Center at University of Texas
Contact: Banu K. Arun barun@mdanderson.org

Canada
Ontario
University Health Network-Princess Margaret Hospital Recruiting
Contact: Srikala S. Sridhar 416-946-2249

Page updated 06/20/13